Thank you!!

Over 1400 of you joined the signers on the right to help free Dr. Arash Alaei. Dr. Arash was released from Tehran’s Evin Prison near the end of August, 2011, and rejoined his mother and family.



Tuesday, 19 July 2011, marks a Global Day of Action during which health professionals, scientists, and concerned citizens from around the world appeal to the Iranian authorities for the immediate and unconditional release of Dr. Arash Alaei.

Dr. Arash Alaei and his brother Dr. Kamiar Alaei are renowned HIV/AIDS physicians who were arrested in June 2008 and wrongfully convicted in January 2009 on charges of communicating with an enemy government. Their crime? Traveling to international AIDS and public health conferences and liaising with other health workers to find solutions to the HIV/AIDS pandemic.

In late 2010, Kamiar was released following 870 days in prison in Iran. Arash was sentenced to six years in prison and today remains behind bars in Evin Prison in Tehran after three long years.

Dr. Arash Alaei has worked tirelessly to address HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, and addiction, and demonstrated unwavering dedication to helping improve the lives of his countrymen and women by protecting them from disease and death. He needs to be immediately released to again take up his life-saving work.



These internationally-known signers helped with this appeal:

  • Vittorio Colizzi, MD, PhD, Scientific Director,
    Chantal Biya International Reference Center for Research on HIV/AIDS Prevention
    and Management (CIRCB), Cameroon; Senior Professor in Immunology and Pathology,
    University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy
  • Françoise Barré-Sinoussi, PhD, 2008 Nobel
    Laureate in Medicine; President Elect, International AIDS Society
  • Sir Richard J. Roberts, PhD FRS, 1993 Nobel
    Laureate in Physiology or Medicine; Chief Scientific Officer, New England
  • Adeeba Kamarulzaman, MBBS, FRACP, Director,
    CERiA, University of Malaya, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • Chris Ford, MD, Clinical Director, International
    Doctors for Health Drug Policies, London, UK
  • Ilesh Jani, MD, PhD, Scientist, Instituto
    Nacionale de Salude, Mozambique
  • Elly Katabira, MD, President, International AIDS
    Society (IAS)
  • Jim Yong Kim, MD, PhD, President, Dartmouth
    College, Hanover, US
  • Emma Bonino, Vice-President and Senator, Italian
  • Pedro Cahn, MD, PhD, Chief of Infectious
    Disease, Hospital Juan Fernandez, Buenos Aires, Argentina; Former President,
    International AIDS Society (IAS)
  • Gerald Friedland, MD, Professor of Medicine,
    Yale School of Medicine
  • David Hoos, MD, Senior Tuberculosis Advisor,
    Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS)
  • Maria Antonietta Farina Coscioni, MP, Nonviolent
    Radical Party, Italy
  • Gerry Stimson, PhD, Emeritus Professor, Imperial
    College London; Honorary Professor, London School of Hygiene and Tropical
    Medicine; Former Executive Director, International Harm Reduction Association,
    London UK
  • Ricardo Diaz, MD, Associate Professor, Universidade
    Federal de São Paulo (UNIFESP), Brazil
  • Matteo Mecacci, MP, Chairman, Human Rights
    Committee, Parliamentary Assembly; Organization for Security and Co-operation
    in Europe (OSCE)
  • George M. Philip, JD, President, State
    University of New York (SUNY) – Albany
  • Peter Piot, MD, PhD FRCP, Director, London
    School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine; Former Executive Director, Joint
    United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS)
  • Marco Perduca, Senator, Nonviolent Radical
    Party, Italy; Secretary, Special Commission on Human Rights, Italian Senate
  • Donatella Poretti, Senator, Nonviolent Radical
    Party, Italy; Secretary, Health Committee, Italian Senate
  • Wafaa El Sadr, MD, MPH, MPA, Director,
    International Center for AIDS Care and Treatment Programs, Columbia University;
    Director, Center for Infectious Disease Epidemiologic Research, Columbia
  • Amilcar Tanur, MD, PhD, Head of Lab, Federal
    University Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Mishka Terplan, MD MPH, Assistant Professor,
    University of Maryland School of Medicine
  • W.D.F. Venter, MBBCh, FCP, President, South
    Africa HIV Clinicians Society, South Africa
  • Brian Williams, PhD, Professor and Chair of the
    Board, South African Centre for Excellence in Epidemiological Modeling and
    Analysis (SACEMA), South Africa
  • Raya Nturmy, MD, Columbia University